Skip navigation

Diplomas all around!

Negligence is ugly, isn’t it? The state of the blogosphere is such that if you don’t have anything to say, you poke a hole in the side of your brain and hope that after the blood and fluids run out, there’ll be a few words spilled onto the text editor. That’s not to say I dislike blogging. Au contrare, I’d like to continue this blog. Here’s the first post of said continuation.

I’ve graduated. Yeah, you heard me. Maybe not from anime, maybe not from my own nerdy-ness, but I’ve graduated.

Man, it feels good to say that.

But saying that leaves a couple of as-of-yet unanswered questions: where do I go after this? What’s an anime lover to do in the real world, at least for a few years?

Let me first talk about the state of this blog and what I’d like it to morph into. Yeah, it’ll stay the same as far as my talking about this, that and the other somehow related to Japan and my everyday experiences as an otaku and tech lover viewing the world around me with wide eyes and a loose wallet.

That said, I’d like to get your opinion on what kind of jobs would be good. I’ve applied to the big names despite pretty much knowing they wouldn’t take me fresh out of college. Square? Yeah. Nintendo? Sure. Valve? Not yet, but maybe if I really feel like pitching myself.

The truth is, jobs aside, I’d like to get more of a grip on Japanese as a language, and at this point there’s only one way to do that: self-study and motivation. I can do the former, but the latter? Judging by the fact that I haven’t posted in a while, you guys will probably rolls your eyes and make me 絶望する.

Which is why I’ve decided to do a bit more fan-subbing than the amateur stuff I’ve done a bit earlier with a group (I’ll never divulge the name, mostly because after about 10 episodes of subbing, it dissolved out of bitterness about the hierarchy and editing). So yeah, watch out fall anime season, here I come!

I say that, but even though I can translate, typeset, time, and style on my own, the fact is that it’s an utter bitch doing each and every one of those things over and over again week after week (it’s called a fansub ~group~ for a reason, right?). So, I need people to help on a weekly basis!

If you’re reading this and saying “huh… I’ve got experience translating, editing, or timing” or saying “hrm… I’ve got a fast internet connection for distribution or access to telesyncs” then I’d love to hear from you and hear why you’re good at what you do. If all that went over your head, then I’ll write another post soon!  お休み、皆さん!

Leave a Reply

